Reconcile Analog

It's a known problem that the analog ports to not return their proper pin names when you do this:

servoPin = A0;

Serial.println (servoPin);

This is such a basic problem that I can't believe that someone at my level (almost no programming experience) is dealing with it, but here I am.

If you do the above on an Uno, it returns a 14. For A0-A5 (6 analog ports) its 14,15,16,17,18,19. If you do it on the Mega, it returns a 54 to start through 69 for A0-A15.

This makes it rather difficult to tell the user what port they are supposed to be using for the Analog input:

Serial.print ("This is controlled with the Potentiometer at Pin ");

So, here is my solution. The problem is, I am not a programmer so I am HOPING someone who is can streamline this code a bit. The following is only TWO pin solutions!!! Since I run a Mega, I need this expanded by another 13!! What about using the Library functions for this?

void reconcileAnalogPin1() {

/*  This is how to get around the fact that the Analog Pins do not report back the
 *  proper numbers. A0 is not what comes back when you choose for example, 
 *  analogpin1 = A0; On the Uno, A0 = Pin 14. On the Mega 2560, A0 = Pin 54. Since 
 *  the Mega has 16 Analog pins and the Uno has 6, lets resolve that issue here: */

if (analogPin1 == 54 || analogPin1 == 14){
    Serial.print ("A0");        
  }
  else if (analogPin1 == 55 || analogPin1 == 15){
    Serial.print ("A1");
  }
  else if (analogPin1 == 56 || analogPin1 == 16){
    Serial.print ("A2");
  }
  else if (analogPin1 == 57 || analogPin1 == 17){
    Serial.print ("A3");
  }
  else if (analogPin1 == 58 || analogPin1 == 18){
    Serial.print ("A4");
  }
  else if (analogPin1 == 59 || analogPin1 == 19){
    Serial.print ("A5");
  }
  else if (analogPin1 == 60) {
    Serial.print ("A6");
  }
  else if (analogPin1 == 61) {
    Serial.print ("A7");
  }
  else if (analogPin1 == 62) {
    Serial.print ("A8");
  }
  else if (analogPin1 == 63) {