Recording Audio Sample Data

Hi all. First let me say that I am very new to the arduino and have been told that it has a rather steep learning curve. Furthermore, I have a fair amount of programming experience (C and C++), however my skills in electrical engineering are bit rusty :wink:

Anyway, to my question: I am doing a project for school that requires me to simultaneously read in 4 audio lines. I planned on using 4 electret condensers(standard mics) and simply plugging them into the analog inputs. However, after doing a bit of research on using microphones with the arduino (which seems to be lacking in any substantial amount of material), i read that using a mic through analog input could only distinguish between varying intensities of the detected sound. Is this so? Will I not be able to get accurate enough sample data to record a waveform? If so, is there any alternative method of accurately recording sound with the arduino?

Any help with this is greatly appreciated!

Welcome to the Arduino forum. I don't think you will find the learning curve too long as you have the language experiance and the hardware is a learn as you use it kind of situation. As far as your application there are two areas to consider.

1. The amplitude of microphones is just millivolts and will need amplification via op-amp to get any useful resolution. The Arduino A/D are 10bit 0-5vdc inputs.

2. Sample speed. One has to sample at better then twice the highest desired bandwidth frequency to be able to reconstruct the signal. If however you just want to destingious between sound and no sound then sample rate may be less. And if you are wanting to sample all four channels then that is X4 for a single channel.

Perhaps if you explain better the application we can steer you better. It could be that the Arduino will not have the speed if 4 channels of audio need to be sampled at hi-fi bandwidths.