Red LED breaks code

I am a complete newb when it comes to electronics. Today is my second day playing with the Arduino and I ran in to something that I can't explain. I wanted to try some simple stuff before I try to build my first project. Today I added a second LED to a breadboard that already had an LED and a button. My goal was to cycle through the LEDs bringing both off, then one on, then both on, then one off, then both off, etc... with the push of the button. I have blue, white, green, and red LEDs.

This works with all of the LEDs except the red ones. When ever I put the red LED in, it just lights up after the first button push and stays lit up no matter what after that. What could cause this? LEDs seem like simple devices that should either light up if they work or not if they don't. Does anyone know why an LED would stop the code from functioning and stop my other LED from turning on or off?

Thanks!

int ledPin = 13;                // choose the pin for the LED
int ledPin2 = 12;
int inputPin = 2;               // choose the input pin (for a pushbutton)
int val = 0;                    // variable for reading the pin status
int ledval = 0;
int ledval2 = 0;

void setup() {
  pinMode(ledPin2, OUTPUT);      // declare LED as output
  pinMode(ledPin, OUTPUT);      // declare LED as output
  pinMode(inputPin, INPUT);     // declare pushbutton as input
}

void loop(){
  val = digitalRead(inputPin);  // read input value
  ledval2 = digitalRead(ledPin2);  // read input value
  ledval = digitalRead(ledPin);

if (val == HIGH) {            // check if the input is HIGH
    if(ledval == HIGH && ledval2 == LOW)
    {
      digitalWrite(ledPin2, HIGH);  
      delay(200);  
  }
    else  if(ledval == HIGH && ledval2 == HIGH)
    {
        digitalWrite(ledPin, LOW);  
        delay(200);
    }
     else  if(ledval == LOW && ledval2 == HIGH)
    {
        digitalWrite(ledPin2, LOW); 
        delay(200);
    }
    else
    {
       digitalWrite(ledPin, HIGH);