Redirecting Stdout to Arduino Serial / RF24's printf.h library

Hi !

I downloaded the code & examples of the RF24 library : https://github.com/maniacbug/RF24/blob/master/nRF24L01.h When I tried to compile, I got those "assembler messages" : http://pastebin.com/LtiH2Fk1

When I comment the "#include printf.h" and the printf instructions, everything is fine, but obviously I don't get any messages on the serial out.... and it pains me since there is useful debug infos inside the RF24 lib. The printf.h 's source : http://pastebin.com/BuFxQT8T

I guess that the code was written for windows, and I have to modify it in order to make it works on my Ubuntu .... but I don't get compiler errors that I could process. Or I have to modify my computer's stdout config ... and don't have a clue where to begin. I'm very new to Arduino, and very very older than I was when I got my C++ classes ^^

Bonus question : How can the compiler fail on the assembled code ? Isn't it itself that's generating this source ?

My config : OS : Ubuntu 12.04 Arduino IDE : 1.0.5

I can't figure out any cause for your problem. ManiacBug's printf code is quite neat and works in my experience. I can't see any reason why it wouldn't work for you, and I can't think of any reason why the failure symptoms would include assembler errors. Is it possible you have done a copy/paste into a non-ASCII file, or something like that?

I tried to copy the code and paste in a plain text editor : same result. I got the code from the github repo. Tried also to remove an reinstall libavr, witch contains fdevopen if I'm not wrong, but I got the same errors.

But I'm short on ideas now ...

Now I'm confused.

I removed completely avr-libc & gcc-avr, which removed arduino-core, then rebooted, and tried to compile a sketch : the IDE doesn't complaint about it, and there is the same error messages.

Now, I'm REALLY confused.