Reed switch array - false readings (programming not wiring)

Hello everyone,

I am quite new to Arduino and programming in general. This is my first post but I have spent a lot of time on this forum looking for answers for all kinds of problems and thanks to all you contributors most of the time there is an old post with exactly what I need. Hopefully one day I can also contribute!

I have wired an 8x4 reed switch matrix (it will be 8x8 but it is alot of soldering!) using Berger’s chess matrix. The matrix uses a reed switch and diode on each position, the diodes prevent ‘ghosting’ when more than one reed switch signals. The program scans one row at a time, this is the same principal as the keyboard library. All of the wiring is correct as the testFunction of the program works fine.

The program searches for a change of state, checks to see if the reed switch has gone off or on and then looks for another change of state. This is meant to work as a chess board and serial print a move such as me1e2. 90% of the time this happens but 10% of the time I get ‘Invalid move’.

I would really appreciate it if someone could have a look at my program to see if there is any obvious mistakes or if I am approaching it completely the wrong way. I have tried and tried to fix this but I think I think I have just been overambitious with this project and require the help of the forum.

Thanks,
Dan

Unfortunately the code is too long so I have attached it.

chess_matrix_FINAL.ino (9.16 KB)

That's some hefty code there. It would take me more time than I'm willing to spend to really go through it (sorry), but I will point out something that jumps out immediately - it may or may not be a problem: