Reed-switch counter HELP.

Hi Arduino's,

I'm brand new in the world of Arduino, programming...actually, brand new in the world of electronics. I bought a Arduino starter kit a few weeks ago, because I would like to learn how to program micro controllers.

But, it's not that easy when your'e new in the field, so I need some help from you pro's! ;)

I'm in need of a device, that tells me how many rounds my wheel has turned - but(!), it has to convert it so 3 rounds = 1 on my display. 6 rounds = 2 on my display. 9 rounds = 3 on my display. and so on, and so on... I was thinking about placing a magnet on the wheel and a Reed switch below.

I have tried to make a program in the Arduino-program, but I can't make it work... There must be someone that have made the same (or something similar), because in my head the code shouldn't be that difficult to make.

I really hope there is someone on this forum that can help me out. I would appreciate it a lot!

Thanks in advance.

Ubbe09 (Denmark)

Go ahead and post what you have so far, don't be shy. What would be the maximum RPM of the wheel. Since you're learning, and the Arduino is probably plenty fast enough to do this a simple way. You can just watch a pin with a while() loop until it changes (start of magnet passing) and then another while() loop to wait until it is done. Then you could count it and update your display every third pulse. Finally, start all over again which the Arduino will do automatically if you put this in your loop() function.

Well I'm no "pro", that's for sure, but these two things spring to mind:

The reed switch will work like any other momentary switch, and will almost certainly need de-bouncing else you'll get a false count. So if you didn't already, take a look at the debounce tutorial.