relay control

I'm a noob here to everything that's electronics and programming, I'm a mechanical engineer and a little used to plcs, so you get the point, electronics is not my forte.

So I have this little project driving me insane at work, I need a vacuum loader to open a valve 4 times, close, then open another one and run a motor for x amount of seconds (last valve and motor must run together)

Valves are 24vdc and motor is 120vac

The maintenance guy already had an arduino he doesnt need (arduino uno r3) so i went ahead and bought the components i need (or think i need) to make the small relay board. Im planning on running everything off of the 5 vdc so i went ahead and got 2 x 5vdc, 24vdc relays and 1x 5vdc, 120vac and their diodes (1N4004), 1k ohm resistors and transistors (2n2222).

Right after I assemble the board I'll fiddle with the program.
this being said, can I plug the base of each transistor to any three digital pin I want? keep in mind that the last 2 relays I want to control at the same time so I'm not sure if those 2 should be plugged into the same digital pin.

I know I have to use the 5v power pin to supply the relay board but, how do I power all 3 of them? just plug all three to that same power pin???

Please bear with me, I've run the very basic 1 relay circuit to power LEDs and big light bulbs, so I don't really know how to handle 2 or 3

Thanks,

the project does not sound complicated.

programming the unit uses the same concepts of all programming.

it only does what you tell it, and in the order you tell it.

open valve 4 times

open other valve and run motor for x seconds

very simple. but I figure you did not describe how or when to start, if there is an emergency stop. and such.

for hardware.
120VAC power
5 volt power supply.
24vdc power supply
and another power supply for the arduino

you need all three power supplies, you cannot use the arduino as a power supply for the relays.