Relay to Cut Phone Line

Hello, I am new to circuitry and am looking to build a circuit that will allow me to disable my phone line for different intervals of time (ie 10 mins - 30 mins). My understanding is that is can be done with a normally closed relay, but that's where my knowledge ends...

Look at this, it is about relays and motors but there is no reason why the relay must switch a motor, you can have it disconnect your phone line.
http://www.thebox.myzen.co.uk/Workshop/Motors_1.html

I am not sure where you are in the world but this is illegal in some countries like the UK.

How much current/voltage travels down the phone lines? Why not just find the specific data line and connect it via a transistor?

What you are looking for is a DPDT relay,

Read the " Pole and throw" section on Wikipedia

Basically, when you energize the relay, it cuts the phone line so that no calls come in and any in progress get disconnected. Nobody would be able to dial out either. De-energize the relay and the phone line goes back to normal

*** Check local laws, there are implications in some areas.

The part itself can be something like this:
http://www.hvwtech.com/products_view.asp?ProductID=467

It can be done quite easily with a DPDT relay with a transistor to drive it. Of course I didn't tell you this because as GM says. they take a dim view of it in this country....... (its pins 2 and 5 in the socket you ahem switch cough on a UK socket) ::slight_smile:

Sorry for the off topic question.

this is illegal in some countries like the UK.

Do i understand correctly that it is illegal to pull the (all) phone plug(s) from the wall in some countries?

Jeroen

No, we can pull the plugs from the wall socket (all of 'em if you want), just not mess with their precious wiring......

Ah ok.

I was thinking in the line of 'You are not allowed to be un-reachable'. :slight_smile:

Thanks,

Jeroen

Nanny state, yes, dictatorship, not really (at least yet). :wink: