Remote Control Boat

Hi all! So i like a challenge and since i’m a mechanical engineer, i can get through all my mechanical items but know nothing about this coding or electronics stuff, so before i dive into research tell me if i can even accomplish this.

I am in the process of building an rc boat and want to control it using an arduino. I could just buy a remote control but thats no fun. So…

1. Can an arduino run a RC receiver to receive the signal from a remote to transmit to servos? This will be to run servos that will control throttle position and rudder angle.
  2. At the same time as its giving signal for the servos for throttle and rudder, can it use a gyro or accelerometer to sense it angle in the water and send a corresponding signal out to other servos? This would be to sense the anlge of the boat and adjust trim tabs accordingly to level the boat at top speed.
  3. can i sense speed with an arduino? That way i could completley get rid of low speed adjustments for trim tabs or make the slow speed adjustments and high speed adjustments differ.

optional stuff:
4) so here is where i think it will get too complicated but i love a challenge. Can the arduino send a signal back to the person, say to show fuel level or something like that?
5) can it use bluetooth? maybe make an app on my phone i could drive from? this would limit distance greatly though i think.

answers to any part are apprecited.