Remote temp sensor project

I am a complete newbie at this and have been searching everywhere I can find to figure out my problem. I will describe the system and symptoms and maybe one of the smart people here can help me get this thing going.

I have 2 Mega 2560s connected via 1000 feet of fiber through serial modems. One transmits temp data from a TMP36 sensor and the other receives it and prints it to the serial monitor. The transmitter end will be buried in an armored container to read temperature underground from about 1000 feet away. The system will not have battery power to keep the system alive, due to design criteria, or be running until I need a temp reading. At that point I will attach the 12VDC voltage source to the transmitter’s barrel jack via the composite fiber cable (fiber and copper in one jacket) and a USB cable to the receiver for reading the temperature on my laptop.

The obstacle for me to overcome is I need the transmitter to power on and start sending temp data when the 12VDC power is applied. No USB or reset are possible. When both are powered via USB, the system works perfectly. The receiver is the indicator I use to judge whether the sketch in the transmitter is running or not.

The transmitter is outputting serial data to the modem via pins 0 and 1. The temp sensor is attached to pin A0.

This is the transmitter code that I am using (I commented out the voltage and degrees C print lines since I don’t need that data):

//TMP36 Pin Variables
int sensorPin = 0; //the analog pin the TMP36's Vout (sense) pin is connected to
                        //the resolution is 10 mV / degree centigrade with a
                        //500 mV offset to allow for negative temperatures

/*
 * setup() - this function runs once when you turn your Arduino on
 * We initialize the serial connection with the computer
 */
void setup()
{
  Serial.begin(9600);
  Serial1.begin(9600);
 Serial.println ("Hello");//Start the serial connection with the computer