Remove wait time before playing audio track using millis()

I am working on a neat little personal project and I have the setup working almost 100%. I am really excited about the whole thing. This is my first time messing with audio, and I have been working hard to learn the code to put this all together and have progressed a lot these last couple weeks. However, I can’t figure out the last little bits. Let me explain the situation:

I am using an Arduino Uno, three 10k ohm potentiometers, a 16 led Neopixel ring, and a DFPlayerMini mp3 player.

When you turn the dials (potentiometers) they change color of the associated section of leds on the Neopixel ring. There are 8 colors to choose from. Each dial is mapped to correspond with each color and update the leds accordingly.

When each dial is set to a specified color (in this case, teal, which is the int 4) an audio track will play.

Here is where I have trouble.

The tracks do play, but there is a delay before they do so. I understand it is because of the if(millis() - timer > 10000){…} and that it won’t play the song until that if statement is true, after which is will play the track for 10 seconds repeatedly until the dial changes. So, my question is this: how can I get rid of this wait time before a track will play?

Here is my code:

#include <Adafruit_NeoPixel.h>
#include <avr/power.h>
#include "Arduino.h"
#include "SoftwareSerial.h"
#include "DFRobotDFPlayerMini.h"

SoftwareSerial mySoftwareSerial(10, 11); // RX, TX
DFRobotDFPlayerMini myDFPlayer;
void printDetail(uint8_t type, int value);

#define PIN            3
#define NUMPIXELS      16

Adafruit_NeoPixel gemA = Adafruit_NeoPixel(NUMPIXELS, PIN, NEO_GRB + NEO_KHZ800);

int dialPinA = A0;    // Potentiometer for Gem A
int currentStateA;
int previousStateA = 10;

int dialPinB = A1;    // Potentiometer for Gem B
int currentStateB;
int previousStateB = 10;

int dialPinC = A2;    // Potentiometer for Gem C
int currentStateC;
int previousStateC = 10;