Replacing the UNO with tiny boards like the Pro Mini 328

Hi all. I'm new to Arduino and am planning a number of projects where the main board will be used permanently. Obviously it's costly to buy a new Uno for each project. Can I use my Uno to prototype the code and wiring and then swap it out for a tiny board like SparkFun's Pro Mini 328, as long as I provide proper voltage supplies? It isn't clear to me whether the same sketches will run on both or if there are hardware differences that keep me from "hot swapping" (with additional soldering, of course).

Thanks!!

-Ben

Once you build your code and upload it to the Atmega you really don't need the arduino board. It is possible to create a minimal circuit to only perform the functions you have designed in your code. There are good tutorials on building the arduino circuitry on a breadboard in a "standalone" setup: http://arduino.cc/en/Main/Standalone http://arduino.cc/en/Tutorial/ArduinoToBreadboard

You can go even smaller and eliminate some of the components in the tutorials above such as the ftdi,usb,external clock, etc. Here is a minimal circuit example: http://www.gammon.com.au/forum/?id=11109 They even discuss a low-power "sleep mode" where the processor sleeps until it receives input to wake it up.

If you decide that your circuit is complete and works as desired, you could even make your own PCB for a permanent setup.

Can I use my Uno to prototype the code and wiring and then swap it out for a tiny board like SparkFun's Pro Mini 328, as long as I provide proper voltage supplies?

Yes. As long as the replacement uses the 328 chip, there will be no problems. If it uses a different chip, and the code uses any non-portable techniques, like direct port manipulation or timer diddling, then code changes will be needed.

It isn't clear to me whether the same sketches will run on both or if there are hardware differences that keep me from "hot swapping" (with additional soldering, of course).