Reset button for EEPROM?

Hi, have a Arduino Micro. I have a need to clear the EEPROM values stored, can I use the red reset button on the board to do this? I have no experience with programming here so more than a simple "yes" would be nice.....

No. You have to run an EEPROM clearing sketch. Why do you need to clear it?

No, you can not. That is what makes the EEPROM special - it will maintain it's values in case of a power down or reset event.

You need to clear the EEPROM with code. Write a function that uses the EEPROMClear function.

However, the sketch that was linked to stores zeros in EEPROM, but unwritten EEPROM locations actually contain all ones, or 0xFF.

That EEPROMClear page is typical Arduino Playground stuff. Terribad. I don't know where they dig up the people to write those articles.

An EEPROM full of 0's isn't cleared. An EEPROM full of 255's is cleared. The "blank" state of an EEPROM (same for flash) is 0xFF (255) in each cell. When you get a new Atmega chip, the EEPROM is filled with 0xFF (eg, every bit is a 1) - so if we want to clear it, we want to return it to that state, so we put a 255 in every cell. .

The reset button just restarts the code on the Arduino. Same thing happens when you open serial monitor, or go to upload a sketch (the serial adapter in the arduino board drives the wire connected to the button low, just like if you'd pressed it)

I agree with you, however, depending on the erased contents being all 255’s might be a bad software practice in some circumstances. Which is why I asked the OP why it is necessary to clear it.

Regards the playground, at least they were honest with the name. :slight_smile:

Yikes...good point. I assumed that it would erase the EEPROM, not write it to all 00s.

So, with Arduino, what is the best way to erase the EEPROM without using a write cycle? From Table 8-1 of the ATmega328P datasheet (yes, I know that's not the OP's processor) you certainly can erase only.