Resistance and current flow

I'm a programmer, but I have zero experience with electronics. I'm trying to figure why the following thing is true: why doesn't the location of the resistor matter? I know that "it's because they're connected in a row", but that's not the answer I'm looking for.

If we look at the following diagram:

http://www.robertstrains.net/simple%20LED%20circuit.jpg

A lot of things are unclear to me:

1. Why is the resister between the + terminal and the LED? doesn't the electricity flow from the - terminal to the + terminal?
  2. If eletricity flows from the negative terminal to the positive, wouldn't the LED be 'first in the line' to get the larger current?even if it's for a milisecond, why doesn't this burn out the LED?

The reason this is so confusing to me, is because I use this anology:

I have a bucket of water, a box and a ball like this:

[Water(current)] [Box(resistor)] [Ball (led)]

If I pour the water out on the box, the box is gonna block out most of the water and the ball will only receive a little bit of water, but if I replace box with ball and pour the water directly to the ball, the ball is getting more liquid than the box, why doesn't the ball (LED) suffer? it seems like direction should make a difference and I'm trying to understand WHY it isn't?

Thank you!

kcoke: The reason this is so confusing to me, is because I use this anology:

So, don't.

Any analogy fails when strained or applied incorrectly.

To use the water analogy, you must picture it as a series of sealed pipes that always complete a circle back to a pump. The pump is the power supply. For water/current to flow out either end, water/current equal to it must flow into the other end.

So if I put a flow restrictor/resistor anywhere in a circuit, water flow/current is reduced in the entire series circuit. And water flow/current is the same anywhere in a series circuit.

The analog of voltage is water pressure.