Resistance detection for lickometer

Hi everyone,

I'm completely new to Arduino. I'm tasked by my boss to set up a previous behavioral assay without a protocol (last person didn't leave one). We used Arduino to detect resistance change (I think), then send a TTL as an output.

The set up looks like this. I assume when the mouse licks the bottle, it'd change the resistance.

The question is, how could I proceed with the code to detect the resistance change? I'm also confused as for whether I need to hook up a battery.

Please excuse my poor explanations. Please ask any questions!!!!! I really appreciate it.

Hello
Post a real schematic with all componets used.
And the datasheet of the lickometer sensor.

Thanks for your fast response. I edited the post with a picture. I couldn't add a second one since I'm a new user. Let me know if it helps!

A capacitive switch sensor might be what you need.

Where did the image of the orange mouse go ?

Rodents usually grab the water feeder with their paws.

I can only upload one since I'm a new user. Is that image more helpful? I can edit it again.

Rodents usually grab the water feeder with their paws.

Try reading some other threads - the forum software bases your status (to some extent) on how much you have read.

Presumably, the original code is lost?

New image uploaded!

I uploaded the new merged image. Yes the code is lost :frowning:

Schematic posted!

Looks like you might be want to do this:

https://playground.arduino.cc/Main/CapacitiveSensor/

CapSense

Is the original code still functioning on that Arduino or do you have to start from scratch?

Thank you I'll take a look.

I have to start from scratch :frowning:

So what do you have there? Is that the original circuit and wiring? If so, a hand drawn diagram would help - the photos don't really tell the story.

That's as much as I have here. I'm attaching a diagram that makes sense in my head (what I think the last person was trying to do). ![IMG_5144.HEIC|375x500]