Resistor 2W with LEDs

I’m working on a fish tank light assembly using Arduino. I have the design and the code written already, but had a question regarding a resistor in my circuit.

There will be 3 banks of LEDs on the light: one bank of 4 blue LEDs; one bank of blue LEDs; and one bank of red. The blue and white banks will take 12V each from the 12V supply, so no problem there.

The problem arises with the red bank- it only takes 7.2V to run it, so I need to use a resistor. The resistor must be able to dissipate 2W at 16Ohms, and I have no experience working with resistors above 1/4W. Will this resistor need to be heat-sunk? Or is it designed to dissipate the heat well enough?

Also, even though the full 12V will be used in the blue & white banks, should I still use a 1 Ohm 2W resistor?

It should also be said that the circuit will be in a standard radioshack project enclosure.

I attached the circuit schematic as a JPEG.

Thanks!!

The resistor must be able to dissipate 2W at 16Ohms, and I have no experience working with resistors above 1/4W. Will this resistor need to be heat-sunk? Or is it designed to dissipate the heat well enough?

A two watt resistor would be able to dissipate 2 watts in normal applications, however it's kind of good standard engineering practice to bump up the wattage rating to the next available wattage size as running any component at it's 100% rating is not recommended for best reliability purposes.

Heat sinking a power resistor is possible but it's not usually done in that standard cylinder form factor of most resistors does not lend itself to simple mounting AND good heat transfer.

A two watt resistor would be able to dissipate 2 watts in normal applications, however it's kind of good standard engineering practice to bump up the wattage rating to the next available wattage size as running any component at it's 100% rating is not recommended for best reliability purposes.