Resource Manager

Hi All,

I had mentioned this in other threads but thought this maybe the better place for it.

As some may know the use of the F() macro on text is great for saving RAM, but the this space is not optimised for duplicates.

As we ALL know space is a premium on any embedded controller.

So came the thought of a "Resource" manager for handling all those duplicates in Flash.

Now I am no trained programmer, so mostly I never know the "CORRECT" way to achieve the result. Sure I can make it work, but I would be the first against the wall for Code abuse.

So before I go off making a tool for auto creating a chunk of code, I thought I would feel out the best approach.

So consider this, In your code you use "TEXT", be they Strings, Char arrays or some other method I don't know of. If you use a lot of words then the chance of duplications is fairly high.?

This is where peoples blood will start to boil, So to print some text

Serial.Print("Some Text");
Serial.Println("Some Other Text");

move the Static text to flash,

Serial.Print(F("Some Text"));
Serial.Println(F("Some Other Text"));

Nice and Easy. Other methods:

char sometext[] = "Some Text";
char someothertext[] = "Some Other Text";

Serial.Print(sometext);
Serial.Println(someothertext));

OR

const char sometext[] PROGMEM = "Some Text";
const char someothertext[] PROGMEM = "Some Other Text";

Serial.Print(FPSTR(sometext));
Serial.Print(FPSTR(someothertext));

The last two were just from memory so they could be WRONG. But whatever, there are many ways to skin that cat.

So Text is tucked away in Flash, cool. but we end up with 5 whole words when perhaps 3 would have be ok.

now I understand that joining things can be bad, and may even take up more space than is saved but I ponder the use of a _F(index) function.

In this function the string is created from the various words. Be it a String or Char[] or even numeric.

const char T_some[] PROGMEM = "Some";
const char T_other[] PROGMEM = "Other";