Rev limiter using arduino

Hello all,

I've been reading a lot on this forum and decided to make an account because i need some help with my rev limiter.

The rev limiter works with a relay which is connected to de igntion.

What i want to achieve with 1 momentery switch is when i press it once it should run my loop for lets say 3 seconds. But when I keep it pressed it should run the loop until I release the button.

I'm relatively new to programming and arduino so i don't know how to achieve this. I've tried putting some extra delays in the code but that didn't work.

I also read that it can be helpfull to take a look in the blinkwithoutdelay script and take a look into booleans but i still don't know how to fix this.

My code:

const int buttonPin = 2;
int buttonState = 0; 

void setup() {
  pinMode(3, OUTPUT);// connected to S terminal of Relay
  pinMode(buttonPin, INPUT);
 digitalWrite(buttonPin,HIGH);
}

int counter = 0;
void loop() {

buttonState = digitalRead(buttonPin);

if (buttonState == LOW) {
  digitalWrite(3,HIGH);// turn relay ON
  delay(45);// keep it ON for x seconds mcut 45

digitalWrite(3, LOW);// turn relay OFF
 delay(20);// keep it OFF for x seconds mnot  20
}
}

It is for a toyota starlet 1.3 non turbo without a catalytic converter. For the people that are interested in a video https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mpbB-SgGfMU

I still have to find the ideal amount of milliseconds to get it working better then this.

Do you already have a rev limiter and the relay connects to it somehow? (I can't watch the video 'cause I'm at work.)

delay() is milliseconds so 3 seconds is delay(3000). 45ms may not be enough time for the relay to activate.

Otherwise, I don't understand how this thing works so I don't know what the problem is...