RF detector falling off for some reason

I am trying to build a cell phone detector. I found several schematics online, but I liked the one below best because it has an easy output for the Arduino so I can make fancy readouts and what not.

Because I am a noob with no formal training, I figured I’d better measure the output from Pin 6 before hooking it up to my Arduino and frying it. So I set it up on my breadboard and powered it up with my 11.4V battery.

It worked, sort of. About four feet away, I get zero volts on the output pin. When I move it in towards the antenna, the voltage comes up- for about a half second, then it drops off back to zero. The closer I get the phone to the antenna, the higher the voltage- but it still drops off back to zero if the phone doesn’t move. When I move it, the voltage comes back up, but quickly goes down.

Clearly something is draining the signal. What do I need to do to make the voltage constant? I want the voltage to increase the closer the phone is to the antenna and stay there so I can give distance information with the arduino. Any ideas?? Thanks.

Cellphone detector.jpg

Okay, I've been doing a little reading. Apparently a normal cell phone only sends its "Hello" packets to the cell tower periodically, so maybe I'm not picking up anything because it is on standby. A smart phone with a running ap might broadcst constantly, but I'm using my wife's blackberry for testing, and it's not doing anything. I guess I need to make a call and try it..

Make a call, send a SMS/MMS, or navigate a browser. http://www.linear.com/search/search.php?q=AN87&col=doc-an&start=&sort=&order=&ci=0 This doc has nice RF detector on page 110.

Made a call. Nothing... :(

It will not work, of course. You have to add a detector in front of the op-apm (a UHF diode for example) to get a DC voltage related to the input AC UHF amplitude..

When I move it in towards the antenna, the voltage comes up- for about a half second, then it drops off back to zero.