RFID Multiple tag reading at medium distance

Hi all,

I’m a programmer but I have had very basic exposure to electrics and things like Arduino, so please bear with me.

I would like to make a playing-card reading system. The reason being we would like some interface/overlay to show which player has what cards, such as for poker. Ideally I would like to be able to read RFID tags attached to playing cards and have the arduinos communicate to a raspberry pi which will handle the updating on the overlay, this side I can manage with but I would like some guidance on the RFID side.

Currently I am using an MFRC522 reader attached to my Uno. I have been able to read the RFID tags one at a time with a range of <1 cm. This means that each player has to present the cards in order and also we would need to have the reader on the table which does not look pleasant.

A central database will handle mapping tag UID to what the card represents so all I need to read is the tag’s UID.

I have been looking at longer distance RFID readers and have found some. I also found another standard to ISO 14443, which is ISO 15693. This supports 13.56 MHz at around 1 metre distance (which I planned to decrease to ~ 15 cm via the antenna gain) and supports anti-collision which is ideal for scanning 2 cards at the same time. However I have not found any readers for this that are compatible for the Arduino. I’ve also briefly touched on UHF but it seems quite expensive but if it’s the correct way to approach this then I am willing to venture down the UHF route.

Potentially if we use a standard that supports anti-collision then it would be nice to be able to count each player’s chips automatically too.

So my question is: What can and can’t I do? Am I able to purchase a reader and tags that will allow me to read 2 cards and 40 (max) chips at a distance of 15cm? Or will I just have to stick to reading one card at a time?

Many thanks in advance.