RGB Controller for lighting on vehicle

Hello all, I just wanted to see if there were a couple people out there that could help me out on a project and lead me in the right direction with parts and programming if needed. Basically I want to make a LED tailgate bar from a strip of 5050 SMD LEDs , not the addressable version tho. I was planning on running 2 strips, one for each half of the truck and tied to hat corresponding tail light. I was wanting to run an arduino un r3, but I was pointed towards the ruggeduino board. I have no experience with arduino, but I really want to learn. I would like the lights to be dimish red for parking light input, bright red for brake light input, amber for turn signals, and white for reverse lights if there are enough circuits. So I was thinking of taking the signal from the truck to the analog input side of arduino and output the digital side. I am not really sure where to start with this, so any and all help is appreciated.

Thanks Kenji

Thank you

I'm doing a similar thing myself, reading a signal from an RC receiver, and using that to control some RGB lights for my hex-copter. The thing is, for simplicity of wiring, and of programming, I'm using the addressable lights. Trust me, it's easier. So, why don't you want to use those?

What kind of programming experience do you have? Have you done the basic Arduino examples yet? You're gonna want to do some of those before you dive into this.

And yes, for an RC truck, you're gonna need some vibration damping, and big heavy Arduino is not what you want. I would use a micro and mount it on a vibration damper. It's still not gonna be super durable, but nothing on RC trucks ever is, right?

Thanks for the response, my project is more geared towards my full size truck, but could be similar. I had a couple of rolls of the analog RGB laying around and theta why I wanted to try and go with that, plus it can cut down on the cost of the project if I can get this to work and end up making more.