RGB Crossfade & millis

Hey guys, I am a total noob at Arduino, sorry if the question has been answered before.

I am trying to cross-fade an RBG, which is all good, the thing is I want to add a switch state button to turn the RBG on the first click and off on the second, thing is that it only turns the RBG’s on but doesn’t turn them off.

I have scoured the forums for hours now, tried adding break; to the end of each fade but this messes with the timing of the RGB’s, I know I have to use millis and I think I understand the basic concept of it and tried to modify my code using it, except the timing is all off and there’s not a smooth transition.

Thanks for the help.

I will add below the original code I have and the one I tried using milli’s with, I haven’t added the switchstate button code because I have tested the millis code and it works fine with the button the timing and transitions are just off.

RGB fade code:

const int redLed = 11; //the number of the LED pin
const int blueLed = 10;// where the green pin is connected to
const int greenLed = 9; // where the blue pin is connected to
int DELAY = 20; // 20ms internal delay; increase for slower fades

void setup() {
Serial.begin(9600);
pinMode(greenLed, OUTPUT);
pinMode(blueLed, OUTPUT);
pinMode(redLed, OUTPUT);
}

void loop() {
// fade from green to red
for(int i=0; i<255; i++) {
analogWrite(redLed, i);
analogWrite(greenLed, 255-i);
analogWrite(blueLed, 0);
delay(DELAY);
}

// fade from red to blue
analogWrite(redLed, 255-i);
analogWrite(greenLed, 0);
analogWrite(blueLed, i);
delay(DELAY);
}

// fade from blue to green
analogWrite(redLed, 0);
analogWrite(greenLed, i);
analogWrite(blueLed, 255-i);
delay(DELAY);
}
}

This is the milli’s code I have tried to add to the code above.

unsigned long grStartMillis;
unsigned long rbStartMillis;
unsigned long bgStartMillis;
unsigned long currentMillis;
const unsigned long grPeriod = 1000;
const unsigned long rbPeriod = 1000;
const unsigned long bgPeriod = 1000;