Ring flash - power question and buttons not working

Hi,

I am a newbie making a ring flash for the macro lens of my DSLR camera. I am using a 24 RGB LED ring and control the intensity with two push buttons. The device runs on an Arduino Nano which does a startup sequence, reads the buttons and controls the intensity of the LEDs using the Adafuit Neopixel library. I designed and 3D printed a neat housing that interfaces with the lens hood interface of my macro lens.

The housing fits and the startup sequence of the LED ring works, however, I have two remaining issues:

ISSUE 1. POWER
I see two options to power the setup (see attached schematic, I couldn’t insert it here):

Option 1: Directly via the mini USB port
I can power the Arduino Nano directly from the USB port. If I do this, the 24 LEDs draw too much power (estimating 5W, so 1A), so the Arduino voltage regulator gets very hot and the voltage drops to 3V. This is probably not a good idea, but currently my Nano is still working.

Option 2: Connecting a 5V USB power supply on the 5V
This way, I can use a 5V/2A USB power supply that provides plenty of power to drive the LED ring. I tried this too but the Nano does not start up.

I was guessing I should not connect external power to Vin, since this is specified for 6…12V, so it will probably not work on 5V.

ISSUE 2. BUTTONS
I used the internal pullup resistors of the Nano an wired the buttons to pull down pins D4 and D5. But somehow I see no reading at all (see the attached code).

The essential part of the code:

const int   BUTTON_PLUS    =   4; // Yellow button
const int   BUTTON_MINUS   =   5; // Black button
const int   DATAPIN        =   7; // Data for LED ring

bool  minusPressed        = false;
bool  plusPressed         = false;

void setup() {
   pinMode(BUTTON_PLUS,  INPUT_PULLUP);
   pinMode(BUTTON_MINUS, INPUT_PULLUP);
   pinMode(DATAPIN,      OUTPUT);
}

void loop() {
   // Check buttons
   minusPressed = !digitalRead(BUTTON_PLUS );