Robot 4wd with 4 motors, PC with Windows, and Windows Kinect

Hi Everyone!,

Help with my project will be greatly appreciated.. Also, I know the below is a lot to ask for and know what I am asking. However, if you have notes from an existing project like this, the effort to just send will hopefully be easy enough to help me out (emcgehee@jym-st.com). I am a complete Arduino and Robot noob by the way.

Background: I have done quite a bit of reading but I am a robot and arduino noob. I'm an ex Air Force Structural Mechanic and have decent mechanical experience. I build my own PC's but I do not know how to make my own boards (plug and play).

Objectives: Robot will have the frame with potential to ride it with up to 500 lbs. PC or Laptop and connect to Arduino and kinect. Kinect will be used as a follow robot Option to crontrol using a bluetooth controller via PC Windows

Hardware: Lithium car battery for performance (can this power the laptop, car and everything or how to prevent ruining my electronics with control of power)? Car setup with 4 wheels and 4 motors. What Arduino boards, shields and items do I need for electronics? I was reading about an H bridge and other issues with 4wd and 4 motors. Could someone explain and has a solution? Complete hardware list to accomplish the above would be cool, if someone has the time. Schematics for mechanics and electronics would be amazing!

Kinect-arduino applications: Arduino IDE Kinect SDK for windows *I hear C# is good but do I need to use this as well or what languages should I use? *I will need to learn coding for these applications to modify to my use but existing coding would be appreciated for a good starting point.. 4wd with 4 motor coding would be outstanding!

Thanks for the help in advance!

Edgar McGehee