Robot Controller : 24V Axis Motors

Hello. First of all i want to let it be known that i am very new to the arduino world!!!! so please forgive my stupidity and lack of knowledge....so please keep the flaming to a minimum! :grinning:

I am an Automation Technician for the natural gas industry and i am a senior at Miami University as well. Our senior design group is designing a drive unit for an old Mitsubishi RM-501 Move master Robot. This robot was made back in the 80's for a short period of time before they came out with a much better updated model, so there is hardly any material online regarding this specific model. Basically we received the robot in a heaping mess. half the motors work, and the original drive unit was in pieces.

What we have learned is that the motors in the axis' for this robot are continuous motion Servo Motors, which i have been studying up on. they are 24v motors and we are looking to control the robot with an Arduino Mega. I have read up on the use of PWM signals to control the position of a standard servo and to control the speed of a continuous motion servo.

My first question is, How can i get my 5v arduino PWM to control the 24v motor? I have read that mosfets are the way to go but i guessi am running into a slight mis-understanding.

The way i understand it, a servo has a Motor+, a Motor-, and a PWM Input. you supply your voltage to the motor and then let the PWM signal do the controlling. although... on all these Mosfet and Transistor drivers i am seeing, they show the mosfet wiring straight to the positive and negative of the motor.

So i guess some clarification would be greatly appreciated as well as some support and recommendations.

I really do apologize if this specific topic has been covered on the forum, but i have done a decent amount of research and could not find anything that specifically relates to my application.

Thank you all in advance!!

-Rob