robot drummer arm

Hi. I'm going to build a robot drummer but am not sure where to start. I've been doing research but I am completely new to arduino and robotics so I'm asking for a little advice. I want to start the project with a robot arm that will bang on a drum. Add in new stuff till he can play a whole set. If anyone has any advice, what kind of arduino board I should get, books that would be helpful etc. I'd really appreciate it. I do a one man band show for a living. Now I need a robot band! You can check out what I do at jordpeck.com Thanks a bunch for your help. Jord

Making an "arm" that does anything very quickly is not an easy challange. A drum playing arm that mimics the actual movements of a human arm playing a drum would be somewhat complex and very expensive to develop.

I saw a Youtube video that had solenoids betting on a percussion instruments. They were not arms but, just the solenoid and it's plunger going up and down. It would not be as fancy as an arm but, with some flashing lights could possibly make it interesting enough.

To use and arm to beat on a drum you would need pneumatic cylinders and probably a lot of pressure and volume of air to make the arms move fast enough. The amount of weight of the equipment would add up quickly and then would require a chassis strong enough to hold it all together.

Mark