Robot that drives in a straight line or maybe drives straight to a specific poin

I am still new to programming and bot building but I am trying to see how hard it will be to build a robot that can be set down on a specific point then drive in a straight line to another specified point 30 feet away. This will be inside a warehouse on concrete floors. Ideally I would like to do this without it following any markings on the floor. Would I need to do something like a follow me and put a phone at the end point? Maybe a laser line system? Would I need GPS, and gyros? Are there higher grade kits besides Lego nxt.

Thanks for any help you can give me.

Davidgeorge212:
I am still new to programming and bot building but I am trying to see how hard it will be to build a robot that can be set down on a specific point then drive in a straight line to another specified point 30 feet away.

Not very hard to do, but a bit much for a first project if you are that new.

Davidgeorge212:
This will be inside a warehouse on concrete floors. Ideally I would like to do this without it following any markings on the floor.

Yeah, that's all doable.

Davidgeorge212:
Would I need to do something like a follow me and put a phone at the end point?

That's one way.

Davidgeorge212:
Maybe a laser line system?

That's another

Davidgeorge212:
Would I need GPS, and gyros?

That's a possibility, but GPS will be next to useless inside a warehouse.

Davidgeorge212:
Are there higher grade kits besides Lego nxt.

Surely.

Davidgeorge212:
Thanks for any help you can give me.

It sounds like you've got a ton of planning and learning to do before you get to building much of anything. Google is your friend. Start by finding other similar projects. But don't just copy, learn how they work.

You will of course need some form of guidance for the robot.