robot to reproduce an image

Hi,

I want to start a project, but don't know where to start. (then I start to read about arduino, yes I'm a newbie)

The main idea:
1.) Load image from computer (max. 1m x 1m)
2.) Analyse the image. (Get the rgb values every 3-5 mm)
3.) Get a colored woodbox (they are sorted in several boxes)
4.) Reproduce the image

Ok, what I read from the forum is following.

1 - 2 (image): should be done by computer, because the araduino doesn't have power
3 - 4 (robot): ok this, can I make like a cnc robot (I hope)

But the image problem is driving me crazy. I already though to print it and use a rgb sensor to analyse every 3-5mm, but this needs a lot of memory to save data, or? Does somebody have some tips/ideas/pages to check?

many thx

But the image problem is driving me crazy. I already though to print it and use a rgb sensor to analyse every 3-5mm, but this needs a lot of memory to save data, or

If you have the image already on the computer (see [1]), why wasting paper for a print and use an expensive color sensor to scan it again? If the image is not in the computer the easiest way to get it there is a camera.

Sounds similar to the below "wooden mirror".

I have the image in the computer, but right now i have no idea how to automatically get xy coordinates with a rgb value.

I need something where i can say:

1. start here and tell me the rgb value
  2. go 4,9mm to the left and tell me the rgb value......till to te end of the image
  3. Go a little bit down and to left and start again analysing (the wood boxes are round that's why a little bit displaced.

After i all have the coordinates and rgb values, a robot should take one round wood box and place it somewhere else. and so on and on....this I will do it wich if clauses (where color this is go to this box, start vacuum and pick it up, place it to this coordinates. I forgot the color of the image are reduced, so there won't be the problem that the computer doesn't know the wood box.