robotic arm that opens door on its own, what kind of sensors?

Hey!
I have a ambitious plan to make a drink fetching robot with quite a lot of features.
Plan is to make robot that has a robotic arm and it drives from my command to fridge, opens the fridge door, locates drink i asked for, picks it up and then returns to me.

Question is what kind of sensors I should use for locating fridge handle and pulling it open AND after opening, how to make it find the drink holder. I was thinking to make a bar code reader on arm so it could read the barcode from can and if its right, picks it up and closes door and comes to me. If its wrong can, it sends IR or something to fridge can holder to spin next drink.

I hope you people understand what I mean :slight_smile: my english is not best.

Am i too ambitious? this is my first project after all. I have arduino mega at2560 board as microcontroller and loads of shields ready.

1. what sensor I should/could use to locate the handle easily?

2. when door is open should it be like IR that sends signal to robotic arm IR sensor, that it knows door is open? any ideas are welcome :slight_smile:

3. how to locate the barcode on can? or is this impossible to make?

4. how it locates fridge. maybe IR sensor and IR beacon on fridge? any other suggestions? I would like to avoid the line following since lines on floor are not really ideal.

can one mega controller handle that lot even? driving, moving arm, locating, barcode reading etc?

Im sorry Im so newbie on this. I have studied as much as I can but im now trying to order the sensors and I could really use help.

Thank you in advance :slight_smile:

If you have plenty of experience with computer programming on things other than Arduinos this may be a practical project.

If you are completely new to programming then you should have a burger for your first meal, not an elephant.