Robotic finger with tactile sensation

Hi everyone,

I am a computer science student with very few knowledge on electronic engineering. Basically my final year project is to make a robotic finger with tactile sensation.

I use the finger model from Yale OpenHand Project (Yale OpenHand Project). Also i have set up the connection between two flexiforce sensor and two Hi-Tec motors. However, tactile sensation is not just simply reading data through Arduino.

I will be so appreciated if anyone can please simplify the requirement and setup of tactile sensation?

How do you have it wired up? Maybe you wired it wrong.

How are you trying to read it out? Where’s your code? Maybe you coded it wrong.

What exactly are you trying to do with it? Maybe you’re trying to do something for which the flexiforce sensor is not appropriate.

As a CS student, and a 4th year one at that, you should have been on the receiving end of technical questions often enough to know how to ask them :-/

Thank you for correcting me the way i asking question.

Here is how i hook up the components. I am reading the data with very few lines of code. Basically just analogRead() method. (Link)

As you mentioned, the rate for flexiforce sensor may not be fast enough to detect. Therefore i have a set of Hall sensor. (Link)

I have read a few papers regarding how to achieve the tactile sensation. However, i have very few tools. The programming aspect should be too complex for this underactuated robotic hand project. I just want somebody who has experience smilier to this topic may give me some suggestions regarding the hardware.

DrAzzy:
How do you have it wired up? Maybe you wired it wrong.

How are you trying to read it out? Where's your code? Maybe you coded it wrong.

What exactly are you trying to do with it? Maybe you're trying to do something for which the flexiforce sensor is not appropriate.