Robust electronics advice

Hi everybody!

This is my first try at developing an Arduino project… I hope I've not done something terribly wrong.

Long story short, it's a RS485 connected Arduino reading data from an 1-wire digital sensor and an analog phototransistor. I have completed the software and it works fine, now i would like to deploy it outdoor.
I will use an arduino Micro, but I have placed the Uno version in the breadboard to make it more readable.

12V power comes from the RS485 line, that's just a standard 1A switching power adapter.

The Arduino itself and the electronics in the bigger breadboard will go inside the main case, while the components in three smaller breadbards will be "satellites" connected via some a few meters long wires.

Now, the question: I do not know why, but I have a feeling that I should add more electronics to protect the Arduino before sending its output into a long outdoor wire… could you please give me some advice on the topic?

Also, what kind of case would you suggest me to use? Maybe an IP68 white plastic case to protect it from heavy rain? Or it is better to use a ventilated case to avoid overheating under the summer sun?

Would you use shielded cables? And, if yes, how would you wire the shielding?

Thank you!

Electronics on a breadboard is not compatible with your goal of making it robust. Get yourself a soldering iron and some stripboard or protoboard or order a PCB and solder it all together once you've gotten past the prototyping stage.

I thought this was a good article:

The Arduino won't generate enough heat to need ventilation, you need a well sealed case to be weatherproof,
you don't want moisture getting in.

RS485 will give you the ability to have a long cable run without problem (limited by the voltage drop
across the power and ground wires).

However there is a risk from thunderstorms - nearby lightning could be bad news, and the main protection