RockBand KickPedal help please!

Hello all,

I am new to the Arduino world but have ambitious ideas. I am currently trying to build a circuit to help me build a new kick pedal for my rock band drums. From what I have learned the kick pedal provided by the company uses a Rare Earth Magnet and a N/O Reed Switch to close the circuit. I was able to build that with a 8mm audio cable soldered to the cable and magnet placed in the hammer (First attached image). But what I want to do is use the Arduino Uno to make a double kick pedal. So what I need to happen is when one hammer closes one circuit it only fires on a close signal and re-opens even if the magnet is still close enough to keep it closed so that the second hammer can do the same. Here is the code I have so far and the circuit. Sorry if it sounds confusing and thanks for any help.

int switchstate = 0;

void setup(){

pinMode(3,OUTPUT);

pinMode(2,INPUT);
}

void loop(){

switchstate = digitalRead(2);

if (switchstate == LOW) {
    digitalWrite(3, HIGH);
  }
  else {
    digitalWrite(3, LOW);
  }
}

A photo does not give a good indication of how it is wired. Please draw a clear circuit and post a photo.

You have used a pull down R on you proto board. Many "how to" circuits do it that way. The better way is to use pull-up R's. The reason being that it reduces the possibility of shorting the 5v rail. The Arduino also has inbuilt pull-up R's so can save some wiring.

Do you want to

Read a single activation of the switch (reed switch)
Output a pulse to the hammer
Output a second pulse to the hammer
Wait for the next switch activation

Weedpharma

Thank you for taking the time to help, let me see what I can do for you.