Rotary encoder

Hi I'm new to all this and have set off with an idea and just keep researching and playing about till the point I can complete my project

I have been looking at rotary encodes and I see people using them to adjust direct and speed of a motor. Can they be used to program a motor? Example been the speed and direction and the amount of rotations?

Thanks Steve

wilco1989:
Hi I’m new to all this and have set off with an idea and just keep researching and playing about till the point I can complete my project

I have been looking at rotary encodes and I see people using them to adjust direct and speed of a motor. Can they be used to program a motor? Example been the speed and direction and the amount of rotations?

Thanks Steve

Rotary encoders can be used for estimating motor speed and/or controlling motor speed. “Quadrature” rotary encoders can also provide information about direction of rotation.

Are they used to set the estimated speed? Or do you have to turn the encoder? Hard to explain really.

Could you set the desired speed and then set that in the code and not have to touch the encoder again?

If you have attached the encoder to your motor appropriately, it will provide pulses that you can use to calculate speed and direction. You can use that information to control the motor but the encoder itself is just a reporting mechanism.

wilco1989:
Are they used to set the estimated speed? Or do you have to turn the encoder? Hard to explain really.

Could you set the desired speed and then set that in the code and not have to touch the encoder again?