Rotating Scoring Machine Help

Hello All!

I am a very beginner programmer and need some help with a project I'm working on. The project is a Soccer game. There are 3 holes, each with a light and a switch. I'm also interfacing with an existing keyboard based scoring system, where the scores will increment via F1,F2,and F3. The holes/lights will rotate (1, then 2, then 3) and the user must score in the lit hole. The rotation will start upon a button press, and switch between two lights (Green for ready, Yellow for running)

I currently have the rotating lights and ready/running light status going. I need help with tracking if the light is lit, and sending the keyboard press. I'm using the Keyboard.h library

Also just to test I've commented out the keyboard stroke stuff and added a Serial.println to make sure the logic works.

I'm having a bit of a hard time getting the Serial Print to work. In theory, if the serial print works, I should be able to just substitute the keyboard strokes in.

Should I be using a wait or while function instead of an IF function to watch button presses while a light is lit? (Go easy on me, I'm a greenhorn with programming)

//#include "Keyboard.h"

const int start_button = 7; const int hole1switch = 8; const int hole1light = 4; const int hole2switch = 9; const int hole2light = 5; const int hole3switch = 10; const int gamereadylight = 11; const int gamerunninglight = 12; const int hole3light = 6; int start_button_state = 0; int hole1state = 0; int prevhole1state = HIGH; int hole2state = 0; int prevhole2state = HIGH; int hole3state = 0; int prevhole3state = HIGH; long debounceDelay = 50;