ROV, HD video + telemetry

I have a radio controlled submarine that I have been using for more than 10 years.

The existing configuration (excluding the 72 MHz RC control) consists of:
(mobile components)

• a miniature VGA camera in the sub
  • a miniature coaxial cable that extends the composite video signal to a surface float
  • the surface float contains a 900 MHz composite video transmitter (and its own 12V battery)
    (base station components)
  • 900 MHz video receiver
  • composite video to USB converter
  • laptop computer to display/record live video

It was/is desired to upgrade the system to include:

• high definition video (1080p minimum)
  • telemetry to detect and display submarine depth, pitch, and heading
  • to get rid of the laptop and use a tablet for display/recording

I have a 5MP camera (USB output) and I have used a Nano with a 10DOF sensor board for telemetry transmitter (via serial) and use a Mega with servos as a telemetry receiver and display (tested and working). I had intended to use the existing composite video radio to send the serial data from the Nano to the shore station.

I THOUGHT that I would be able to use a USB-to-Ethernet adaptor and a Wi-Fi radio to send the HD video to the shore station but could NOT find a USB/Ethernet interface that would act as a USB server. I therefore need to re-think the communications arrangement.

Possibilities are

Option 1:

• change the 5MP camera to a HD IP camera
  • convert the Nano to Ethernet interface
  • cable 2 IP channels to the surface float
  • feed the 2 IP channels to a hub, then to the Wi-Fi transmitter
  • add some kind of video server at the receiving station to make the video available to multiple tablets
  • feed the telemetry channel to an Ethernet shield on the Mega

Option 2 (more simple? maybe not practical)

• Interface the USB camera to the Nano and output the video stream as one Ethernet channel
  • switch the telemetry data from serial to a second Ethernet channel