Roving Networks RN-XV + Arduino Wireless Proto Shield (rev 3)

Hi there, I was wondering with this combination, what library would I use and what modifications would I need to make in order to treat this combination like an actual wifly shield? I know the wifly shield communicates with the arduino with spi, and this module will communicate with the arduino via serial rx tx :) I am trying to use this module to replace an arduino ethernet shield (both boards are the official Arduino Shields...)...

i was hoping to use PDU and the Ardumote ipod app :) ( which currently works nicely with my ethernet shield rev 3)

if you could point me in the correct direction :) I'm pretty new to networking arduinos. :) I tried googling the topic I used here (without the (rev3)) but there were mostly just retail results :) In any case :) any help appreciated :) (building an Ardumote Treat dispenser for my pooch if all goes well )

Cheers.

It sounds like you know a lot more about networking that I do, given the acronyms you used, however, the RN-XVee will drop right into an XBee shield socket and communicate directly with the Arduino using the RX/TX pins, so I don't see that you need any libraries, per se.

XVee is very nice because you can competely forgo having to use an ethernet shield connected to some sort of wifi RF module = very expensive in total.

I have used the XVee plugged into an XBee socket in both UDP and TCP modes to communicate with ZOC telnet software on the PC end, and also wrote small UDP and TCP utilties in C# .NET, which I can embed inside my larger PC programs. Very easy.

The one problem you have with RN-XVee is in being able to get directly to the module API, in order to configure it. You either need an XBee shield/adapter that allows the XBee to directly talk to a PC, or else you "can" use an Arduino board USB port, if you cross connect the RX+TX pins, and remove or hold the Arduino in reset [short ICSP pins 5+6].

HTH.