Rower sensor reverse-engineering help

Hello everyone,

Arduino & electronics newbie here...maybe you can help me with my little project: I am building a replacement for my Waterrower's A1 monitor (which only gives basic stats) with an Arduino Yun and an LCD shield.

A bit of background: Recently I bought a Waterrower A1 which comes with a simple monitor that only keeps track of a bunch of stats (rowing time, meters rowed, speed, etc.).

Unfortunately I am growing tired of having to copy the stats on an excel sheet every time I finish exercising, so since it's 2015 and we have the technology I decided to build a replacement monitor (better,stronger,faster) with an arduino Yun.

It seemed pretty simple at first because the rower keeps track of the rowing via what I believe is a 2 wire reed-switch sensor placed statically on the frame. Under it there is a wheel with 6 magnets placed at the same distance one from the other that constantly spins under the sensor whenever I row. I verified with a multimeter that whenever one of the magnets gets placed under the sensor there is continuity between the 2 wires.

I was able to hook up and read the sensor via digital pin 2 and count the number of impulses using an interrupt and I have already made the Yun give me stats on time elapsed, meters rowed and meters/min performances.
I have also managed to write to the SD card to save the stats and show the results in a graphical way via the web server and some code using the c3js graphic library. Considering this is the first time I work with an Arduino I'm pretty psyched!