RPM based switch

Hi everyone,

I am attempting my first Arduino project and would like some advice/help. I'm new to Arduino and have bought myself a Uno R3 to start. I have two years worth of an Electrical and Electronics Engineering degree under my belt so I have experience with C programming, ATMega MCUs and fundamental electronics.

My project is to build an RPM based camshaft profile switch for the SR20VE engine in my car which utilises the Nissan NEOVVL system which is similar to Honda's VTEC system. From factory the intake and exhaust camshaft profiles are switched independently at certain RPM values by a pair of 12V solenoids. What I want to be able to do is make these switching points adjustable so I could have the cams switching simultaneously or at my own chosen RPM values.

My main concern at this point is figuring out how to read the 5V variable frequency square wave signal that is used by the ECU into the Arduino and convert this into a regular RPM value (this would make it a lot easier to change the switching points in the code) with the possibility of adding an LCD display later on.

I then need to figure out how to use these RPM values to control the activation of the solenoids (conditionals?).

Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated.

jevans:
My main concern at this point is figuring out how to read the 5V variable frequency square wave signal that is used by the ECU into the Arduino and convert this into a regular RPM value

Do you know the range of frequencies?

You can use a RISING interrupt to capture the value of micros() or millis()

Assuming you have attachInterrupt(0, myISR, RISING); in setup() the ISR code would be as simple as

void myISR() {
   newMicros = micros();
}

and then the body of your code can subtract the previous reading from the new one in order to know the time between rising pulses

After that it is simple maths.

...R

Robin2:
the ISR code would be as simple as

void myISR() {

newMicros = micros();
}