RPM sensing withot causing delay in sketch?

Hi guys,

I need some help here. I am far away from an expert coder, but done some smaller arduino projects with succes. However, now im stuck. In my project, I need to calculate the RPM of a rotating motor using a hall sensor. I have 4 pulses per rotation, usually, the RPM is between 200 - 4000 per minute.
As you will see in my code i am using interrupt, which needs delay to calculate the RPM. As i experienced, at low rev i need at least 500 milli sec to have enough pulses for decent calculation. But this half sec gives me a lot of delay. I would like to use other functions, like switches to be able to turn on immediately.
I found other topics regarding similar issues, but as i mentioned earlier, i am not an expert, and many of the answers were kind of Chinese for me :slight_smile:
Eventually i would like to build an engine ignition timing device, where I can control ignition advance, in which case any high delay is clearly unacceptable.
Could you guys please help me in which direction I should go? I am really happy to learn new stuffs, just on my own I don't know what do do know.

here is my code so far:

float revolutions = 0;
int rpm = 0;
long startTime = 0;
long elapsedTime;
const int hall = 2;

void setup()
{
pinMode(hall, INPUT_PULLUP);
Serial.begin(9600);
}

void loop() {

revolutions = 0;
rpm = 0;

startTime=millis();
attachInterrupt(digitalPinToInterrupt(2),interruptFunction,RISING);
delay(500);
detachInterrupt(2);

elapsedTime = millis() - startTime;

if(revolutions > 0){

rpm=((max(1, revolutions) * 60000) / 4) / elapsedTime;
}

String outMsg = String("RPM :") + rpm;
Serial.println(outMsg);

}

void interruptFunction() {
revolutions++;
}

Please follow the advice given in the link below when posting code , use code tags and post the code here to make it easier to read and copy for examination

float revolutions = 0;
int rpm = 0; 
long  startTime = 0;
long  elapsedTime;
const int hall = 2;

void setup() 
{