RRD database and Interactive graphs

I finally got a script running that should be able to handle at least two one wire networks (on separate pins) and as many devices as the one wire network can handle. I'm hoping it can handle about 20 to 25 devices on each network. I'm collecting temperature data from different locations.

The data is sent to an RRD database that resides on the Yun.

I have a simple html page that displays a graph png file made by rrdtool. The png file is updated by a simple cron task.

This way I can remotely log directly into the Yun that is running all the time and I don't need my main computer running all the time to act as a server.

The only problem with this is the limitations of the rrdtool graphing. It would be nice to have an interactive web page that would let you select which points you want to display and the date/time range.

I've searched around and stumbled into RrdGraphJS, Cacti, etc. I've never worked with Java or AJAX before. Anyone got something like this working that they would care to share. Is it even possible with the limitations of the Yun.

ottsm: The only problem with this is the limitations of the rrdtool graphing. It would be nice to have an interactive web page that would let you select which points you want to display and the date/time range.

As you found, rrdtool's graphing is somewhat limited - it's designed to provide graphs of operating trends to monitor network and system performance and health. As such, it seems to be typically used to generate a few standard (fixed data and time span) graphs on a web page, that are views periodically to determine system status.

That doesn't mean they can't be used for other purposes, but it does mean that it is not a general purpose data visualization and exploration tool. If you want to be able to select different combinations of data streams and time spans, you will have to develop those controls on your own, and generate the graph dynamically based on those inputs.