RS485 and MIDI Signals

Hello community!

I am currently trying to let my Footswitch (with an RJ45 cable, and RS485 protocol) communicate bidirectionally with my guitar amplifier (which has MIDI IN and MIDI OUT jacks).

Therefore, I want to interprete and translate the RS485 signal to MIDI and back, using an Arduino UNO.

Since I'm studying mechanical engineering I don't know much about this topic, so I would really appreciate any kind of help you could offer me (concerning the problem of translating RS485 to MIDI and back).

What would be the best way to translate the signals? How do I start coding the solution? Finally, How would I know which RS485 expression belongs to which function of the footswitch?

Thank your time,
Greets from Germany

RS485 is not a protocol but an electrical specification for a serial interface to transmit/receive a differential signal.
On the other hand, MIDI is a protocol and I believe the Arduino MIDI library uses serial ports anyway, so you should be able to use RS485 in exchange or for the serial port(s).

Thanks for your reply!

So I found out that the protocol, which the footswitch uses is similar to MIDI NRPN. How would the translation between this protocol and MIDI work?

Please post links to your footswitch, and this protocol you found. It's all vague so far.

footswitch: Line 6 Shortboard MK II

amplifier (MIDI): Kemper Profiling Amplifier

I'm not sure about the protocol of the line 6, the only information I have is that it is similar to MIDI NRPN but proprietary.

Concerning the cabels, I do have a connection plan (i dont know how to call it in english) of the RJ-45 cable (8 wires: RXN, TXN; RXP, TXP, GND, GND, PWR, PWR) which connects the footswitch to the arduino. The arduino is then bidirectionally connected to the amplifier using MIDI cables.

Felix19:
Thanks for your reply!

So I found out that the protocol, which the footswitch uses is similar to MIDI NRPN. How would the translation between this protocol and MIDI work?