RS485 communication with Siemens PAC3100

Hello everyone, first time using these forums. :smiley:

Context

I'm currently working on my last year's high school project which basically consists of communicating a Siemens PAC3100 Power Meter to an Arduino Board and then use it to transmit the (measured) information via WIFI or some sort of local IP (..to an html based site) where one could see said information (in real time or with some minor delay, 1 second for example) by launching the browser and typing the IP either in a computer or cellphone (this "second part" i haven't really reseached yet, but i'll cross that bridge when i get to it, i first need to stablish communication :stuck_out_tongue: ).

For the "first part" of the project im using an Arduino UNO board connected to a MAX485 RS485 to ttl converter (which then conects to the RS485 Power Meter's connector). In the software side of things i'm using the ModbusMaster library v2.0.1 by Doxygen.

I'm pretty new to using this (RS 485) communications protocol so i've been searching though a couple of videos and came across a guy using this library and get it working successfully. I tried following his example along with some reading of the library's reference guide, namely the RS485_Half Duplex example (Page 47 of the guide)

Part 1 of the video

Part 2 of the video

I know that the guy is using an Arduino Nano, but since it's more or less similar to the UNO i thought that (software side) it wouldn't matter much.

Hardware connections
Board is powered by USB connection from PC, at the end i'm gonna use a 5v normal connection

• -/A from PM connected to A from MAX converter
  • +/B from PM connected to B from MAX converter
  • Vcc from MAX converter connected to 5V from board
  • Gnd from MAX converter connected to Gnd from board and to common groud from PM
  • RO from MAX converter connected to pin 1 (TX) from board
  • RE from MAX converter connected to pin 2 from board