Running 40-60 RGB LED's

Hi there,

I am an artist creating an installation sculpture. In brief, the project will consist of multiple clear acrylic rods set up vertically in a grid with an RGB LED underneath/inset into the bottom of each rod. The intention is that these LED's will illuminate the acrylic rods and with the use of some coding/arduino board and a microphone, they will respond to the sound around the piece and change color accordingly (red for loudest, blue for quietest).

I don't have an exact number for how many LED's I will use at the moment, but I am imagining somewhere between 40-60. I was told that an Arduino Uno would be fine so I went ahead and bought one. I planned to use a wall socket as a power supply with a step down transformer.

I have a few questions and would love any feedback possible:

1. Will an Arduino UNO board handle this amount of LED's (and a microphone)?
  2. Does using an RGB LED Common Anode or Cathode make any difference in the outcome? (so far I believe it just requires you to create the circuit in a different way)

Basically if any of the above doesn't make sense or looks to be a real problems issue I would love to know!

Thanks

1. A wall-wart will be easier than a step-down transformer. Especially a regulated one that you can then use to drive all of the LEDs
  2. The Arduino will not be able to handle powering the LEDs, but it can control them using something like a shift register or LED Matrix display driver. Check the multiplexing sub-forum for ideas. That is where Common Cathode/Anode comes into play, as your driver will control that choice.

If you have discrete LEDs, use common anode and then use shift register to sink current thru the cathodes. Do you need more than white, red, green, blue, red+green, red+blue, green+blue, off?
If not, then a shift register board like this one with 96 cathode-drive outputs can drive 32 LEDs, and can be daisy chained for 64 LEDs.