Running Arduino IDE with Mac OS 10.4.11

Hi, I am just getting started with Arduino and I am hoping I can use an older iMac G4 PPC that I have. I am running OS 10.4.11 Tiger. I can't seem to get the latest version of the Arduino IDE to operate due to Java problems. I have searched for solutions but I can't find clear answers.

Is it possible to run the Arduino IDE version 1.05 on Mac OS 10.4.11?

If it is possible what version of Java do I need to make it operate?

Would I be better off to run Arduino IDE 1.04?

The error I get shown in console is:

[JavaAppLauncher Error] CallStaticVoidMethod() threw an exception
java.lang.NoClassDefFoundError: javax/swing/filechooser/FileNameExtensionFilter
    at java.lang.Class.forName0(Native Method)
    at java.lang.Class.forName(Class.java:242)
    at apple.launcher.LaunchRunner.loadMainMethod(LaunchRunner.java:55)
    at apple.launcher.LaunchRunner.run(LaunchRunner.java:84)
    at apple.launcher.LaunchRunner.callMain(LaunchRunner.java:50)
    at apple.launcher.JavaApplicationLauncher.launch(JavaApplicationLauncher.java:52)
Exception in thread "main"

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks Darren

I am guessing by the lack of response of any kind that I am barking up the wrong tree. :~

I will start out using the 1.04 version of the IDE and later when I can afford a better computer I will be able to upgrade.

Darren

The last time I tried to run a modern Arduino IDE on a PPC Mac, it didn't have a recent enough version of Java, and wouldn't install anything more recent via "update." I didn't get as far as trying to see whether I could manually install a newer java via Oracle. :-(

Thank you for taking the time to respond. :D

I don't have the computer skills to manually install java so I will stick with the plan to use version 1.04. Now I know I am heading in the right direction and hitting the same roadblocks as others before me.

Cheers Darren