Running Multiple Stepper motors simultaneously

As I am sure you will be able to tell I am not very good at programming but I am trying to learn. I would like to move 6 steppers with three v2 motor shields all simultaneously. I want to move each stepper a different number of steps then reverse the same number of steps.

I modified the adafruit sample to get where I am now. The steppers are all turning one rotation but I cant figure out how to make each stepper move a different number of steps.

#include <Wire.h>
#include <Adafruit_MotorShield.h>

Adafruit_MotorShield AFMStop(0x62);
Adafruit_MotorShield AFMSmid(0x61);
Adafruit_MotorShield AFMSbot(0x60);

// On the top shield
Adafruit_StepperMotor *myStepper5 = AFMStop.getStepper(2048, 1);
Adafruit_StepperMotor *myStepper6 = AFMStop.getStepper(2048, 2);

// On the middle shield
Adafruit_StepperMotor *myStepper3 = AFMSmid.getStepper(2048, 1);
Adafruit_StepperMotor *myStepper4 = AFMSmid.getStepper(2048, 2);

// On the bottom shield
Adafruit_StepperMotor *myStepper1 = AFMSbot.getStepper(2048, 1);
Adafruit_StepperMotor *myStepper2 = AFMSbot.getStepper(2048, 2);

void setup() {
while (!Serial);
Serial.begin(9600); // set up Serial library at 9600 bps
Serial.println(“MMMMotor party!”);

AFMSbot.begin(); // Start the bottom shield
AFMSmid.begin(); // Start the middle shield
AFMStop.begin(); // Start the top shield

myStepper1->setSpeed(40); // 40 rpm
myStepper2->setSpeed(40); // 40 rpm
myStepper3->setSpeed(40); // 40 rpm
myStepper4->setSpeed(40); // 40 rpm
myStepper5->setSpeed(40); // 40 rpm
myStepper6->setSpeed(40); // 40 rpm

}

int i;
void loop() {

for (i=0; i<2048; i++) {
myStepper1->step(1, FORWARD, SINGLE);
myStepper2->step(1, FORWARD, SINGLE);
myStepper3->step(1, FORWARD, SINGLE);
myStepper4->step(1, FORWARD, SINGLE);
myStepper5->step(1, FORWARD, SINGLE);
myStepper6->step(1, FORWARD, SINGLE);
//delay(100);
}

for (i=0; i<2048; i++) {
myStepper1->step(1, BACKWARD, SINGLE);
myStepper2->step(1, BACKWARD, SINGLE);