Running stepper motor at a set time interval

I am very inexperienced in Arduino, but I need to figure out run a 28BYJ-48 stepper motor at set intervals. So, for example, the motor needs to do so many steps at 11 o'clock, then wait till 5 o'clock and run again. I cannot find anywhere that explains how to do this, and I am not experienced enough to develop my own code and setup. Can someone point me to any opensource code or examples? Or offer any guidance? Thank you!

How accurate do those times of day need to be? The Arduino by itself is a poor time keeper in terms of time of day. Use a Real Time Clock (RTC) to keep time. Then it is not hard to compare the current time to the required turn on and turn off times and take appropriate action. There are libraries for each of the RTC modules that will help with that. I like the DS3231 RTC modules.

@groundFungus
Is there a way I could avoid an RTC by using a really large delay between times, or would this run into the same issue?

Sure you can. Use delay if there is absolutely nothing else (like a manual turn on or off or abort) that has to happen during the delay time. The delay() function completely blocks execution (except interrupts). Avoid interrupts until you have some experience.

Or use millis() to do the timing. Other things, like a manual turn on or off or abort, can be sensed while executing a millis() delay.
Non-blocking timing tutorials:
Blink without delay().
Beginner's guide to millis().
Several things at a time.

But, like I said, the timing will not be very accurate and will drift. If what you want to happen at 5 PM one day might drift so that it happens at 6 PM a few days later.

The other issue with delay is that if the power goes out briefly, the timing will be way off until you take action to fix it.

1 Like

+1 for what @wildbill said.