RX/TX communication between arduino, asking help for the code

Hi,

I'm working on an art installation using two arduinos (duemilanove) to detect sounds with one arduino and send signal to another arduino (30m away) to activate a solenoid.

In advance, I must say I have no basic knowledge for programing or electrical engineering, so I'm sorry if this post itself dosen't make any sence. I researched by myself but finally I decide to post this because of time I have left until the exhibition.

I tried to use Xbee for wiress communication first, but I couldn't even set up Xbees, so for now I'm using RX/TX (both GND connected) communication between arduinos. It worked once when I made a prototype using two arduino unos, but it stop communicating after I actually installed them.

I check the all connections of the circuit, so I'm guessing that I might accidentally changed the code, so please check the code and give me advice if you could find something wrong. (this code is basically mash up of copy and paste from I found from Google. Sorry for the mess)

Sender with a sound sensor http://dx.com/p/arduino-microphone-sound-detection-sensor-module-red-135533 :

int analogValue0;
int THRESHOLD = 500;

void setup() {
Serial.begin(9600);
}

void loop() {
analogValue0 = analogRead(0);     

if (analogValue0 >= THRESHOLD)
  Serial.write(1);
  delay(100);

}

When I use Serial.print for checking Sensor sensitivity, it seems like working well. so I'm guessing problem is receiver.

Receiver with a 12V solenoid and a tactile button:

byte incomingByte;

const int gongPin = 3;            
const int buttonPin = 2;
const int THRESHOLD = 1;

int sensorReading = 0; 
int buttonState = 0;
long randOn = 0;         
long delayTime = 0;

void setup() {
 Serial.begin(9600);
 pinMode(gongPin, OUTPUT);
 pinMode(buttonPin, INPUT);
 randomSeed (analogRead (0));
}

void loop() {
  sensorReading = Serial.read(); 
  buttonState = digitalRead(buttonPin);

if (sensorReading >= THRESHOLD) {