Safe to power 2 hacked knex motors with a 9v battery?

Hello all, I am a newbie at electronics, and the C language (I have experience in other languages).

I have a question about powering the knex motor in Arduino Robot for Lowest Cost : 5 Steps - Instructables this tutorial. Normally, the motor takes 2 AA batteries (3V) to power it. I was wondering if the motor is safe to power with a 9v battery. I powered it for a short period of time with the battery, and it was spinning very fast, but will it overheat with consistant use? I am also planning on using an L293D to power it, so if it cannot handle 9v, will it still work if I sent a smaller PWM pulse rate to ENABLE like this:

#define SPEED_PIN 11
//will this send 1/3 voltage and/or amperage so it won't overheat if it is a problem?
analogWrite(SPEED_PIN, 255/3)

The motor does not have any information on it besides the company name "S. M. C. MOTOR". I did a bit of searching, but I could not find any specs for the motor Im using.

And if nobody knows, how long should I run it on 9v to be sure it doesn't overheat?

Normally, the motor takes 2 AA batteries (3V) to power it. I was wondering if the motor is safe to power with a 9v battery.

So what do you think? What was your result?

I was wondering if anyone else knew the specs to the knex motors before I go out and try to send 9v through it for a long period of time.

The amount of current drawn by the motor depends simply on the amount of torque that the motor is producing, so when it is unloaded and up to speed the current with a 9V supply will be the same as with a 3V supply. However, at the other end of the scale when the motor is stalled the 9V supply will put up to about three times more current and up to about nine times more heat into the motor. Obviously that would have a drastic effect on the life expectancy of the motor. If you kept a small motor stalled and powered up at three times the rated voltage, you could probably burn it out within a few seconds.