Safely assembling my project

Hi,

I am new to electronics, and am looking toward assembling my first project. I will be using a 220v to 24v converter, so part of my project will be high voltage.

I know I must earth my project case itself, and intend to use an IEC Appliance Inlet (or similar), but i don't know what else I need to consider, other than to try to cover all bare wires as much as possible. How do i go about physically separating high voltage components from low, do I need to?

This is for my personal use.

Any advice would be gratefully received.

Thanks
karl

Think pro-actively about preventing a risk of a fatal accident:

Imagine an insect like an ant gets into your project and starts crawling around on the mains circuitry - can
it ever form a link between mains and low-voltage sections? If so it will vaporize and create an arc
between the mains and the low voltage side destroying the low voltage circuitry and exposing people
to a shock hazzard.

So use separation and insulation to prevent this scenario - you automatically prevent prying fingers
from the same fate in the process. Be aware that mains can carry much higher voltages than the
nominal mains during a thunderstorm or when fluorescent striplights are switched (due to the big
balast inductor), so think several kV as the dangerous voltage you have to protect against.

If in doubt, don't risk it.

Apart from MarkTs answer and the recommendation that this should not be your "first project", consider a few things:

Thank you both for your helpful replies.
Karl

I would use a walwart or microusb supply if doing so was viable, instead of bringing mains voltage into my project box.

That way, assuming it’s a properly constructed supply, the device power is isolated and you just need to ensure that overcurrent event from malfunction or ingress of a foreign object can’t start a fire or something.