Safety System For Two Relays

I'm new to electronics and am trying to construct a hardware level safety check for a pair of relays so that only one can be triggered at once. The relays will be driven by two separate DIO's on Arduino. I originally tried to do this using a pair of npn's as switches triggered by a single xor but I'm curious if there is a better way.

strackn: I'm new to electronics and am trying to construct a hardware level safety check for a pair of relays so that only one can be triggered at once. The relays will be driven by two separate DIO's on Arduino. I originally tried to do this using a pair of npn's as switches triggered by a single xor but I'm curious if there is a better way.

Well if you use DPDT relay contacts one pole could be wired up such that it removes coil voltage of the other relay if the first is engaged and visa versa. Very basic but very safe.

Lefty

You want an arrangement called XOR or exclusive-OR. It is common in relay logic or “Ladder Logic”
Here is one example:
http://de.wikibooks.org/wiki/Digitale_Schaltungstechnik/_XOR

I've seen this mentioned in some of the pages i've searched through. However all the examples seem to only have one load attached to the last relay in the pair. I want to run separate loads off each relay but still maintain exclusivity between them. I haven't been able to find a schematic that demonstrates that yet so i'm having a hard to envisioning it. Is that were the DPDT comes in one set for the relay to relay and the other set for the load?

strackn: I've seen this mentioned in some of the pages i've searched through. However all the examples seem to only have one load attached to the last relay in the pair. I want to run separate loads off each relay but still maintain exclusivity between them. I haven't been able to find a schematic that demonstrates that yet so i'm having a hard to envisioning it. Is that were the DPDT comes in one set for the relay to relay and the other set for the load?